Cerebral Cisterns

This web page presents the anatomy of cisterns and subarachnoid spaces by means of MRI. Prepontine cistern Premedullary cistern Cerebellopontine cistern Cisterna magna Superior cerebellar cistern Interpeduncular cistern Ambient cistern Quadrigeminal cistern Suprasellar cistern What Are Cerebral Cisterns  Cisterns, commonly known as subarachnoid cisterns, are enlarged pockets of cerebrospinal fluid located in the subarachnoid […]

Cerebral Cisterns Read More

Lateral Ventricles

There are several areas in the lateral ventricle: the frontal horn, which is bounded by the caudate nucleus, Corpus callosum and septum pellucidum the body of the lateral ventricle is bounded by the caudate nucleus / thalamus, corpus callosum and fornix the atrium: this is the focal point of the occipital and temporal horns

Lateral Ventricles Read More

Ventricular system

The ventricular system consists of: two lateral ventricles the third ventricle the fourth ventricle. The lateral ventricle communicates with the third ventricle by the interventricular foramen or foramen of Monro. The third ventricle is in communication with the fourth ventricle through the cerebral aqueduct. The fourth ventricle is related to the subarachnoid space via

Ventricular system Read More

Scroll to Top